Dynamic Spectrum Alliance

Global Summit

London, England

May 1-3, 2018


The Dynamic Spectrum Alliance will head to London, for its Sixth Annual Global Summit. The 2018 Global Summit brings together policy makers, regulators, academia, and private sector leaders in spectrum management to discuss and debate spectrum sharing methods and models, from exclusive use licensing to unlicensed spectrum allocations.

The Summit will explore how various spectrum sharing regulatory regimes across a variety of complementary spectrum bands can be coordinated to lower the cost of broadband to allow 5G and Internet of Things deployments across the globe and connect the remaining 4 billion to the digital economy.

The Dynamic Spectrum Alliance’s Global Summit is the premier event for policy makers, regulators, and industry personnel to share.


Day 1 | Tuesday, May 1st

10:00 AM – 6:00 PM

Regulator Workshop

(By Special Invite Only)

7:00 PM – 9:00 PM

Evening Welcome Reception

Day 2 | Wednesday, May 2nd

8:00 AM – 9:00 AM

Registration and Refreshments

8:30 AM – 10:30 AM

Morning Sessions and Keynote Addresses

Mr. Kalpak Gude, President, Dynamic Spectrum Alliance (DSA) [CONFIRMED]

Mr. Philip Marnick Group Director, Spectrum, Ofcom

Mr. Ajit Pai, Chairman, Federal Communication Commission (FCC)

Mr. David J. Redl, Assistant Secretary for Communications and Information and Administrator, National Telecommunications and Information Administration (NTIA)

10:30 AM – 10:50 AM

Networking Break

10:50 AM – 11:30 AM

Challenges with the Current Spectrum Approach


Dr. Preston Marshall, Principle Wireless Architecture, Google [CONFIRMED]

Unlicensed Economic Growth


Mr. Richard Thanki, PhD student, University of Southampton [CONFIRMED]

11:30 AM – 1:00 PM

Reasons for Change: A Look at Shared Spectrum Use Cases


Mr. Charles Mwaura, CEO, BrightWave Technologies

Dr. Héctor Huici, Secretary, Information Technology and Communications, Ministry of Communications Argentina

Mr. Tad Deriso, President & CEO, Mid-Atlantic Broadband Communities Corporation [CONFIRMED]

Mr. Mark Wheeler Director/Founder, Whitespace UK [CONFIRMED]


Mr. H Nwana, Founder, Atlantic T&M

1:00 PM – 2:00 PM

Lunch Break

2:00 PM – 3:30 PM

Tiered Approaches for Spectrum Sharing


Mr. Reza Karimi, Director, Huawei Technologies

Ms. Lisa Roper, Head of Spectrum Sales , Ministry of Defence [CONFIRMED]

Mr. Brian Regan, Communications & Technology Attorney, Starry Inc.

Mr. Jaime Fink, Chief Product Officer, Mimosa [CONFIRMED]

Mr. Chad Dewey, VP of Product, IgniteNet


Mr. Dave Wright, Director, Regulatory Affairs & Network Standards, Ruckus Networks [CONFIRMED]

3:30 PM – 4:15 PM

Networking Break

3:45 PM – 4:15 PM

Technology Innovation Through Better Spectrum Data and Management


Mr. Yael Maguire, Director, Connectivity Lab, Facebook

4:15 PM – 5:45 PM

Increasing the utilization of 6 GHz for broadband services through spectrum sharing


Mr. Chuck Lukaszewski, VP, Wireless Strategy & Standards, HPE [CONFIRMED]

Mr. Chris Szymanski, Director, Product Marketing and Government Affairs Broadcom

Mr. David Marshack, Emerging Technologies & Telecommunications, RKF Engineering

Mr. Sami Susiaho, Head of Technology, Sky UK

Mr. Julius Knapp, Chief, Office of Engineering & Technology, Federal Communication Committee (FCC)


Mr. Michael Calabrese, Director, Wireless Future Project, New America Foundation [CONFIRMED]

7:00 PM – 9:00 PM

Conference Dinner

Day 3 | Thursday, May 3rd

8:30 AM – 10:30 AM

Morning Sessions and Keynote Addresses

Mr. Jonas Wessel, Director Spectrum Department; Chairperson, Swedish Post and Telecom Authority (PTS); Radio Spectrum Policy Group

Mr. Mario Mankiewicz, Deputy Director, Radiocommunication Bureau, ITU [CONFIRMED]

10:45 AM – 11:00 AM

Networking Break

11:00 AM – 12:30 PM

Is Technology the Best Manager of Spectrum?


Mr. Chris Woolford, Director of International Spectrum Policy, Ofcom

Mr. Ntsibane Ntlatlapa, Telecommunications and Media Technologies Research Manager, Council for Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR)

Mr. Robert Thelen-Bartholomew, COO, LS Telcom

Mr. Andreas Geiss, Head of Unit, Radio Spectrum Policy, European Commission

Mr. Sebastien Grimoud, Business Development Manager, ATDI [CONFIRMED]


Dr. William Webb, CEO, Weightless SIG [CONFIRMED]

12:30 PM – 1:30 PM

Lunch Break

1:30 PM – 2:30 PM

Smart Financing Fireside Chat


Mr. Frank McCosker, General Manager Affordable Access and Smart Financing, 4Afrika [CONFIRMED]

2:30 PM – 4:00 PM

Challenges to Universal and Affordable Connectivity


Mr. Richard Chisala, Chief Technology Officer, C3 [CONFIRMED]

Dr. Martha Liliana Suárez Peñaloza, Director, Agencia Nacional del Espectro (ANE)

Mr. Michael Armitage, Executive Chairman, Broadway Partners [CONFIRMED]


Mr. Chris Weasler, Director of Global Connectivity, Facebook [CONFIRMED]

4:00 PM – 4:15 PM

Networking Break

4:15 PM – 4:30 PM

Update on TVWS Technology


Haiyun Tang, CEO, Adpatrum

4:30 PM – 5:00 PM

The Potential of Dynamic Access in the Millimeter Wave Bands



4:30 PM – 4:45 PM

Closing Remarks

Mr. Kalpak Gude, President, Dynamic Spectrum Alliance (DSA) [CONFIRMED]



Hilton London Wembley

Address: Lakeside Way, Wembley HA9 0BU, UK
TEL: +44-20-81508090 

The DSA has secured a room block at the Hilton London Wembley, at a room Single Room Rate of £174 (approx. 230.47 USD ) per night. Located To book your stay visit the Hilton website here. Space is limited


Interested in sponsoring the 2017 DSA Global Summit?
Contact admin@dynamicspectrumalliance.org for more information.

Sponsorship packages include, among other things, free passes, speaking and exhibitor opportunities,
and media advertisement throughout the event campaign.